Laserfiche WebLink
<br />Sponsored by Staff <br /> <br />CITY OF SEWARD, ALASKA <br />HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMISSION <br />RESOLUTION NO. 2S:.W <br /> <br />A RESOLUTION OF THE SEWARD HISTORIC PRESERVATION <br />COMMISSION, RECOMMENDING THAT THE CITY COUNCIL PLACE THE <br />LOCAL SITES WHICH HAVE ATTAINED NATIONAL REGISTER STATUS ON THE <br />SEWARD REGISTER OF HISTORIC PLACES <br /> <br />WHEREAS, City Council Ordinance No. 95-10, established the Seward Register of <br />Historic Places in order to locally recognize properties important in Seward's history; and <br /> <br />WHEREAS, Historic Preservation Commission Resolution No. 95-06, established that <br />properties which have attained National Register status are automatically eligible for the Seward <br />Register of Historic Places; and <br /> <br />WHEREAS, there are a total of nine sites in the Seward area which have been placed on <br />the National Register of Historic Places including the Diversion Tunnel at Lowell Creek, Ballaine <br />House, Swetmann House, St. Peter's Episcopal Church, Government Cable Office, Van Gilder <br />Hotel, Brown and Hawkins Store, Seward Depot and Alaska Central Railroad Tunnel Number 1; <br />and <br /> <br />WHEREAS, the established policy requires eligible properties to be placed on the local <br />register by resolution of the City Council. <br /> <br />NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Seward Historic Preservation <br />Commission that: <br /> <br />Section 1. The above listed properties are eligible for placement on the Seward Register <br />of Historic Places. <br /> <br />Section 2. The attached proposed resolution is forwarded to the City Council for <br />approval. <br /> <br />Section 3. This resolution shall take effect immediately upon its adoption. <br /> <br />PASSED AND APPROVED by the Seward Historic Preservation Commission this 16th <br />day of August, 1995. <br />