Laserfiche WebLink
Sponsored by: Seward Historical Preservation Commission <br /> CITY OF SEWARD,ALASKA <br /> RESOLUTION 2015-004 <br /> A RESOLUTION OF THE SEWARD HISTORIC PRESERVATION <br /> COMMISSION,RECOMMENDING THAT THE 2015 SEWARD HISTORIC <br /> PRESERVATION AWARD BE BESTOWED TO TANGUY LIBBRECHT <br /> AND JENNIFER HEADTKE <br /> WHEREAS, City Council Ordinance No. 2011-001 established the Seward Historic <br /> Preservation Award in order to locally recognize each year an outstanding contribution made by <br /> dedicated individuals and/or organizations to preserve the tangible aspects of Seward's heritage;and <br /> WHEREAS,the Seward Historic Preservation Commission has chosen Tanguy Libbrecht <br /> (Government Cable Office)and Seward Mural Society Founder Jennifer Headtke as the 2015 Seward <br /> Historic Preservation Award recipients; and <br /> WHEREAS,Mr. Libbrecht has undertaken extensive renovation of the 1905 Government <br /> Cable Office (the Telegraph house) on 6th Avenue. The cable office was constructed by the U.S. <br /> Army Signal Corps as part of the Washington-Alaska Military Cable and Telegraph System <br /> (WAMCATS). The Government retained ownership until 1961,since than the building has served <br /> as a private residence. Built in 1905 this structure is on the National Register of Historic Places and <br /> the Seward Register of Historic Places; and <br /> WHEREAS,the Seward Mural Society has promoted Seward's historical place in U.S.and <br /> Alaska by placing the city on public display since 1999 with colorful murals many of which depict <br /> historic events and places in Seward. Some murals of historic memories, `Postcard from the Past', <br /> `Mount Marathon', `Dawn of Aviation', `The Iditarod Trail', `Tribute to Commercial Fishing', <br /> `Chart of the Entrance to Resurrection Bay', `Seward-Gateway to Alaska', `Remembering Exit <br /> Glacier', `Our Flag Flies in Washington',the `Statehood Mural'. <br /> NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION <br /> COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SEWARD,ALASKA that: <br /> Section 1. Mr. Libbrecht with the reconstruction and restoration work of the Government <br /> Cable Office has shown a contribution towards historical preservation within the community of <br /> Seward. <br /> Section 2. The Seward Mural Society and Jennifer Headtke has instilled a passionate and <br /> lasting interest amongst the community and guests providing a glimpse of Seward History through <br /> the visual history they paint. <br /> Section 3. It is hereby recommended that the City Council list the 2015 Seward Historic <br /> Preservation Awards to Mr. Tanguy Libbrecht and Jennifer Headtke—Seward Mural Society. <br />