Laserfiche WebLink
City of Seward, Alaska Historic Preservation Commission Minutes <br /> April 18, 2012 Volume 2, Page199 <br /> Call to Order <br /> The April 18, 2012 regular meeting of the Seward Historic Preservation Commission was <br /> called to order at 6:33 p.m. by Chair Linda Lasota. <br /> Opening Ceremony <br /> Commissioner French led the Pledge of Allegiance. <br /> Roll Call <br /> There were present: Chair Linda Lasota presiding, and <br /> John French Patricia Heim <br /> Catherine Richardson Monica Hinders <br /> Absent Commissioners were Doug Capra (excused) and Ryan Reynolds (excused). <br /> Comprising a quorum of the Commission, and <br /> Patricia Linville and Tember Eliason, Library /Museum staff <br /> Special Reports <br /> None. <br /> City Administration Report <br /> Linville reported that the letter received from the Department of Natural Resources <br /> concerning gathering ideas will be listed on the AHC website for the Significant Alaskan <br /> Anniversaries which will occur during 2012 -2017. <br /> Linville also reported that on June 1 1912 was the Incorporation of Seward and that 2012 marks the <br /> 60 Anniversary of the First National Bank of Alaska Seward. <br /> Linville then reported that there is an ad hoc committee who will have their first meeting on Monday, <br /> April 23 to begin planning a celebration which includes Margaret Anderson, Bev Dunham, Cindy <br /> Clock and Linville. As for the 150 anniversary of the transfer of Alaska to the US and the 25 <br /> Anniversary of the end of the Cold War that possibly these can be included in the list of themes for a <br /> fire side chat. <br /> Linville indicated that she walked to the site of the Iditarod Memorial Monument to take pictures and <br /> that the sculptures were being mounted onto the rock. Dan Seavey has set May 3 noon for the <br /> dedication ceremony. There will be children singing and acknowledgements of those who have <br /> helped get the project funded and built. Linville then indicated to the Commission that since part of <br /> this project was funded by a CLG grant the Commission submitted, that they were all invited to <br />